The Centre for International Student Assessment (ZIB) is an affiliated institute of the TU Munich. It was founded in October 2010 by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF➚) and the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany (KMK➚) with the aim of establishing a high level of international educational research and thus contribute to quality assurance in the education system. Its main remits include the planning, execution and evaluation of PISA studies in Germany. Another emphasis is research projects based on or connected to PISA studies. In relation to this, it conducts research into the methods applied in other international comparative educational studies (so-called large-scale assessments or LSAs for short). In its research, the ZIB also attaches major importance to practical application. Based on meta-analyses (research syntheses) performed at the ZIB, an exchange of ideas is ensured in the field with schools in particular.

Endowed chairs have been established at the TUM School of Education (Munich), the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF, Frankfurt am Main) and the Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education (IPN, Kiel) for the performance of these remits. Within the ZIB at the TUM, a research group is also engaged in the production of research syntheses. Correspondingly, professor-led research groups at the DIPF and IPN focus on methodological research.

The ZIB bases its work on the close cooperation of the three institutes at the TUM, DIPF and IPN. It also works closely with the Institute for Educational Quality Improvement (IQB➚) in Berlin, and in particular its Research Data Centre (FDZ) which collects the data from large-scale educational studies and makes it available for further research. The ZIB is a member of the Leibniz Education Research Network (LERN➚).

ZIB overview


2010 by BMBF and KMK

Based in

Board of directors
Prof. Dr. Doris Lewalter (TUM)
Vice chairman:
Prof. Dr. Frank Goldhammer➚ (DIPF)
Board member:
Prof. Dr. Olaf Köller➚ (IPN)

Executive Secretary
Tobias Sälzer

Endowed chairs
Prof. Dr. Frank Goldhammer➚ (DIPF)
Prof. Dr. Oliver Lüdtke➚ (IPN)
Prof. Dr. Doris Holzberger (TUM)

PISA National Project Management
Prof. Dr. Doris Lewalter
Dr. Mirjam Weis

Prof. Dr. Petra Stanat➚
Dr. Malte Jansen➚

© 2012 Zentrum für internationale Bildungsvergleichsstudien

» Webdesign